Pink Italy: Expat Ladies Living in Italy
Welcome to Pink Italy!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Welcome to Pink Italy!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for expat women living in Italy, to swap ideas, make friends and seek advice!

You are not connected. Please login or register

Baked stuffed aubergines

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Baked stuffed aubergines Empty Baked stuffed aubergines 31st October 2009, 2:22 am

Katja

Katja

This is something that I do quite a lot. It's a doddle to make, and really yummy. I'm not too good at exact measurements - I just chuck stuff in until it tastes good - but I'll give a rough idea to get you started! I generally do this just for myself, so increase the quantities as needed.

1 aubergine
A handful of mushrooms
1 medium or 2 small courgettes
1 artichoke heart (I buy the ones sliced and preserved in jars, in oil and herbs - 1 heart is about 4-5 pieces from the jar)
basil pesto (1-2 tbsp to taste)
sour cream (1 tbsp or so)
parmesan
salt and pepper to taste
olive oil
white wine

Cut the aubergine in half and score the flesh diagonally, at about 1" intervals, going in both directions so that you get a criss-cross diamond pattern. Rub both halves (both flesh and skin) with a little olive oil, then stick them in a roasting tin into a hot oven for half an hour or so, until the flesh is soft enough to scoop out.

While the aubergine is cooking, slice the mushrooms and courgette. I like them to be quite chunky, but slice them finely if you prefer. Heat some olive oil in a pan, over quite a low heat, and add the mushrooms and courgette. Grind in plenty of black pepper, and add salt if you wish.